Movia Mania

With school in full swing, my blogging has been nonexistent, but one thing we’ve been excited about in my house lately is going to the movies. So I thought I could fire off a few words about the films I’m excited to see this fall and winter.

Full disclosure: We see mostMovie Timely family movies – getting to actually see an adult film (no, not THAT kind of adult film; I mean a movie sans kiddos!) in the theater is a rare occurrence. Still, a lot of children’s movies are awesome, so I am truly excited to see all of the films on this list. Here goes:

Hotel Transylvania 2: Say what you will about Adam Sandler and his usual gang of comedian friends, but I find them funny! Especially as cartoon monsters. Let’s hope this sequel is as cute as the original. (Sept. 25)

Pan: My 8-year-old son is seriously excited to see this one! And I am too – it looks fabulous, with great actors and tons of action and adventure. We were both bummed that it got pushed back from July to October, and we’re counting down the days. (Oct. 9)

Mockingjay 2: Ok, this is one that I will make the effort to see without the (little) kids. I (along with most of the rest of society) adored the Hunger Games books; they are partially what got me back into writing (and reading regularly, to be honest). It’s going to be a tear-jerker – not only because the story is intense, but also because the series is coming to an end. (Nov. 20)

The Good Dinosaur: This looks pretty darn cute, and judging by the way my little guy reacted to the preview, I’m sure it’s going to be on our to-do list for Thanksgiving weekend. (Nov. 25)

Hmmm, there’s a pretty big movie coming out in December, isn’t there? Gee, I can’t remember what it’s called…ok, ok, of course I can’t wait to see Star Wars: The Force Awakens! But if I’m completely honest…I’m actually more excited for a movie that opens on the same day (Dec. 18): It’s the latest Tina Fey-Amy Poehler film, Sisters, and it looks hilarious. (Sorry, all you Jedi masters!)

Honorable mentions (or, movies that I want to see, but only if I didn’t have to pay a babysitter):

The Martian: This film looks super cool, but I haven’t read the book yet! (My TBR pile, like most people’s, is gigantic.) So I think I’ll have to wait for DVD.

Suffragette: This one looks amazing, and I’m hopeful my book club will go as a group! If not, though, I’ll probably have to wait for this one too.

Creed: Confession time: I’m a huge fan of the Rocky movies. Even though they are dragging this series out, I’m curious to see how this new storyline goes. But probably not curious enough to hit the theater.

Daddy’s Home: Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg = LOL on DVD.

What movies are you looking forward to this fall and winter?

Leave a Reply

